Skip to main content

NC State Conference on Faculty Excellence

Stronger Together: Collaborating for Faculty Excellence

The 2024 NC State Conference on Faculty Excellence will be on March 6, 2024

2023 NC State Conference on Faculty Excellence

About the NC State Conference on Faculty Excellence

The NC State University Office for Faculty Excellence (OFE), Digital Education and Learning Technology Applications (DELTA), and the NC State University Libraries invite faculty, postdoctoral scholars and professional staff from all six member institutions of the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges (NC State, Meredith College, Saint Augustine’s University, Shaw University, Wake Tech Community College, William Peace University) to attend the 2023 NC State Conference on Faculty Excellence, which will be held March 9, 2023. This brand-new event replaces OFE’s long-running Teaching and Learning Symposium and DELTA’s Summer Shorts, and brings together campus partners with an investment in faculty excellence. Leading experts from NC State’s Office for Faculty Excellence, DELTA and University Libraries will offer workshops throughout the day focused on the following subjects:

  • Mentoring and Career Mapping
  • Creative and Critical Thinking
  • Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
  • Online and Hybrid Education
  • Library Support of Teaching and Learning
  • Poster Session

Location and Parking

The 2023 NC State Conference on Faculty Excellence will be held in the Duke Energy Hall on the second floor of the Hunt Library on NC State’s Centennial Campus, 1070 Partners Way, Raleigh, NC 27606. Directions and parking information can be found here.

Continental breakfast will be available from 8:30 – 9 a.m. with welcome remarks beginning at 8:55 a.m. The first workshop and interactive sessions will begin at 9:10 a.m. A complete schedule of the day can be found here.

Registration is now open!

Current NC State University faculty, staff and students can register for the conference now in REPORTER.

All non-NC State employees will need to create a Brickyard account before registering. Instructions for setting that up can be found here.

Members in the six member institutions of the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges (NC State, Meredith College, Saint Augustine’s University, Shaw University, Wake Tech Community College, William Peace University) can register here.

Registration is free for all NC State faculty, staff, and students. Registration for all other attendees will be $10.00 and must be paid for with a credit card at the time of registration. Questions? Email

Conference Schedule and Session Descriptions

Start planning your day!

Poster Session:

Dr. T. Brian Routh, Assistant Professor of Accounting, Meredith College
Anne York, PhD; Professor of Economics; School of Business; Meredith College; 
Jennifer Landin, Ph.D.,Associate Professor of Teaching, NC State University
Dana Kotter-Gruehn, Assistant Teaching Professor; Logan Shreve, Undergraduate Student; Daniel Gruehn, Associate Professor; Department of Psychology, NC State
Ignacio Dominguez, Assistant Teaching Professor, NC State
Melvin Jackson, Stephanie Helms Pickett, Sheri Schwab, Office of Inclusion, Equity and Diversity, NC State
Colin Patrick Keenan, University Library Specialist; Dr. Larry Blanton, Professor & Director of Graduate Programs in Plant Biology; Dr. Alexandria Szakacs, Department of Plant and Microbial Biology; NC State
Melinda Knuth, Assistant Professor and Ms. Julie Sherk, Professor, NC State
Colin Nickels, Lead Librarian for Experiential Learning Services, NC State
Travis P. Varner, Assistant Teaching Professor, NC State
Kimberly Ange-van Heugten, Teaching Associate Professor; Jenna C. P. Wagner, Animal Science Graduate Student; Ethan Renfro, Undergraduate Animal Science Student; Jane Stine, Director of Loop Abroad; and Erica Ward,Loop Abroad Head Veterinarian and Academic Director; NC State
Kenya Gordon, Graduate Student, Dept. of Physics; Aaron Titus, Teaching Professor, Dept. of Physics; Karen Young, Professor Emeritus, Dept. of Psychology; Henry Schaffer, Professor Emeritus, Dept. of Genetics; Sharonda LeBlanc, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Physics; NC State
Anne Porterfield, Assistant Teaching Professor, NC State
Adam Van Liere, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse; Erica E. Edwards, North Carolina State University
Erin McKenney, Cassidy Hubbard, Olivia Mathieson, Madison E. Polera Sciences, Ana M. Meza-Salazar, Mariely Vega-Gómez, NC State
Ruby L. Ellis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Jerome Amedu, Graduate Research & Teaching Assistant, NC State
SH Chen, MC Srougi, A Corbett, CB Garcia, J Hayward, D Parker, M Sabaoun, MS Santisteban, V Sivaraman, D Bullock, E Cartwright, JT Dums, AO Hasley, S Noel, C Sjogren, CC Goller, and RM Kelly
*NC State Biotechnology Program (BIT), Jordan Hall, NC State
Sophia Noel, Erin Cavanaugh, and Carlos Goller, Biotechnology Program, Department of Plant and Microbial Biology, NC State
Caitlin Reynolds, Associate Professor and Director of Professional Writing, NC State
Stacey Pigg, Associate Professor and Director of the Professional Writing Program, English; Rebecca De Haas, Lecturer, English; Ashley King, Lecturer, English; Jamie Larsen, Senior Lecturer, English; Christin Phelps, Senior Lecturer, English; Elizabeth Wagner, Lecturer, English; Caitlin Stuckey, Lecturer, English; NC State
Caroline A. Sjogren, Andrew O. Hasley, Sophia C. Noel, Jacob T. Dums, Emily L. Cartwright
Biotechnology Program, North Carolina State University
Caroline A. Sjogren, Education Postdoc, Biotechnology Program (BIT)- CALS;
Carlos C. Goller, Associate Teaching Professor, Department of Biological Sciences and Biotechnology Program (BIT)- CALS; NC State
Erin McKenney, Assistant Professor, Applied Ecology; David Tully, Librarian for Student Success & Affordability, NC State University Libraries; Emily Rund, Department of Biological Sciences, NC State
Carlos Goller, Associate Teaching Professor and Caitlin Stuckey, Lecturer, NC State
Renee Harrington, Assistant Teaching Professor, NC State
Carlos Goller, Biological Sciences,  David Tully, NC State University Libraries, Sam Winemiller, NC State University Libraries
Dr. Lauren J. Brooks, Assistant Teaching Professor of German, NC State
Nur Ozaltin, Assistant Teaching Professor, NC State
Shuyin Jiao, Assistant Teaching Professor; Yan Shen, lead Instructional Designer; Dan Spencer, Research Scholar, NC State
Susan Carson, Tania Allen, Jennifer Yowell, Office for Faculty Excellence, NC State