Skip to main content

Academy of Outstanding Teachers

Recipients of the Outstanding Teacher Award become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they remain a member of the NC State faculty.

The Outstanding Teacher Award acknowledges outstanding teaching across all levels, incorporating excellence in direct and indirect contributions to student learning through teaching, research, creative activities, advising, academic program development, and educational leadership.

Awardees of the Outstanding Teacher Award are inducted into the Academy of Outstanding Teachers, maintaining membership as long as they are part of the NC State faculty. The Academy is dedicated to recognizing and celebrating teaching excellence; its members are expected to proactively support the ongoing enhancement of teaching and learning.

Distinguished educators embody qualities such as flexibility, creativity, responsibility, and compassion. Meeting these criteria requires being a lifelong learner, possessing the skill to deliver instruction to diverse audiences, and demonstrating effective listening.

Members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers have showcased their proficiency and mastery of their subject matter by expressing enthusiasm for teaching, demonstrating the ability to impart knowledge and foster curiosity, and exhibiting a genuine concern for students’ intellectual growth and personal development.

Complete list of all members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers

First NameLast NameDepartment
TerriBilleisenEntomolgy and Plant Pathology
JanukaBudhathoki-UpretyTextile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
JosephDonaldsonAgriculture and Human Sciences
WhitneyKnollenbergParks, Recreation and Tourism Management
TimKraftBusiness Management
EdgarLobatonElectrical and Computer Engineering
ScottPalmtagNuclear Engineering
JasonPatrickCivil Construction and Environmental Engineering
LamPhamEducational Leadership, Policy and Human Development
MarcRussoMedia Arts, Design and Technology
First NameLast NameDepartment
MarceloArdónForestry and Environmental Resources
TzvetelinaBattestilliComputer Science
NatalieCookeFood, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
XiaomengFangTextile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
CarlosGollerBiological Sciences
JeremiahJohnsonCivil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
AmyJohnsonCrop and Soil Sciences
JunLiuMechanical and Aerospace Engineering
PaulaMcAvoyTeacher Education and Learning Sciences
KatieSheatsClinical Sciences
KarlWegmannMarine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
First NameLast NameDepartment
JenniferAyscueEducational Leadership, Policy and Human Development
YevgenyBrudnoBiomedical Engineering
KimEbertSociology and Anthropology
DerekFosterPopulation Health and Pathobiology
TraciLamarTextile and Apparel, Technology and Management
KariLewisHealth and Exercise Studies
LokendraPalForest Biomaterials
MatthewPetersonGraphic Design and Industrial Design
BethRitterManagement, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
RebeccaRonquestForeign Languages and Literatures
ShwetaTrivediAnimal Science
JamesTuck, IIIElectrical and Computer Engineering
J. LynnWorley-DavisPrestage Department of Poultry Science
HuiyangZhouElectrical and Computer Engineering