Academic Department Heads

Our academic department heads provide leadership for more than 60 departments throughout NC State’s 10 colleges.

Please visit the NC State Directory for phone, fax, email and location information. Contact Amy Jinnette regarding updates to this page.

DepartmentAppt DateNameEmailCollege
Accounting7.1.01Frank A. Bucklessfrank_buckless@ncsu.eduPCOM
Aerospace Studies7.3.15Jeffrey Onanjsonan@ncsu.eduDASA
Agricultural and Human Sciences7.1.14Carolyn Dunncarolyn_dunn@ncsu.eduCALS
Agricultural and Resource Economics1.1.17John Beghinjcbeghin@ncsu.eduCALS
Animal Science1.1.10M. Todd Seetsee@ncsu.eduCALS
Applied Ecology7.1.17Derek Aday (Interim)ddaday@ncsu.eduCALS
Architecture, School of9.29.16David Hill david_hill@ncsu.eduCOD
Art and Design7.1.01Chandra D. Coxcdcox@ncsu.eduCOD
Biological and Agricultural Engineering1.1.17Garey Foxgafox2@ncsu.eduCALS
Biological Sciences1.11.16Gerald LeBlancgerald_leblanc@ncsu.eduCOS
Biomedical Engineering9.1.09Nancy Allbrittonnancy_allbritton@ncsu.eduCOE
Business Management7.1.12Richard Warrrichard_warr@ncsu.eduPCOM
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering1.1.08Peter S. Fedkiwfedkiw@eos.ncsu.eduCOE
Chemistry3.1.17Ed Bowdenefbowden@ncsu.eduCOS
Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering8.1.10Morton Barlazbarlaz@ncsu.eduCOE
Clinical Sciences8.11.08Lizette Hardielizette_hardie@ncsu.eduCVM
Communication7.1.07Ken Zagackikszagack@ncsu.eduCHASS
Computer Science1.1.17Laurie Williams (Interim)lawilli3@ncsu.eduCOE
Crop and Soil Sciences6.1.12Jeff Mullaheyjeff_mullahey@ncsu.eduCALS
Economics7.1.11Lee Craiglee_craig@ncsu.eduPCOM
Educational Leadership, Policy, and Human Development7.13.17Penny Pasqueppasque@ncsu.eduCED
Edward P. Fitts Industrial & Systems Engineering7.1.07Paul H. Cohenpcohen@ncsu.eduCOE
Electrical and Computer Engineering8.16.09Daniel D. Stancilddstanci@ncsu.eduCOE
English7.1.06Tony Harrisontony_harrison@ncsu.eduCHASS
Entomology and Plant Pathology7.1.14Eric Daviseric_davis@ncsu.eduCALS
Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences6.16.17K.P. Sandeep (Interim)kp_sandeep@ncsu.eduCALS
Foreign Languages and Literatures8.15.03Ruth V. Grossruth_gross@ncsu.eduCHASS
Forest Biomaterials8.1.16Marko Hakovirtamjhakovi@ncsu.eduCNR
Forestry and Environmental Resources10.16.14Tom Gowertom_gower@ncsu.eduCNR
Graphic Design & Industrial Design8.16.12Tsai Lu Liutsailu_liu@ncsu.eduCOD
Health and Exercise Studies9.2.14Tommy Holdentommy_holden@ncsu.eduDASA
History3.1.16David Zondermandavid_zonderman@ncsu.eduCHASS
Horticultural Science3.1.16Wayne Buhler (Interim)wayne_buhler@ncsu.eduCALS
Landscape Architecture7.1.06Gene Bresslergene_bressler@ncsu.eduCOD
Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences8.16.16Jay Levine (Interim)jflevine@ncsu.eduCOS
Management, Innovation & Entrepreneurship7.1.12Bradley Kirkmanblkirkma@ncsu.eduPCOM
Materials Science and Engineering8.16.09Justin Schwartzjustin_schwartz@ncsu.eduCOE
Mathematics1.1.16Alina Chertockchertock@math.ncsu.eduCOS
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering8.16.07Richard D. Gouldgould@eos.ncsu.eduCOE
Military Science6.1.17Andrew Sindenaksinden@ncsu.eduDASA
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry5.24.17Melanie Simpsonmsimpso3@ncsu.eduCALS
Molecular Biomedical Sciences10.15.05Chris McGahanchris_mcgahan@ncsu.eduCVM
Music7.1.16Daniel Monekdgmonek@ncsu.eduDASA
Naval Science6.9.17Marc A. Sternmastern@ncsu.eduDASA
Nuclear Engineering8.16.15Kostadin Ivanovknivanov@ncsu.eduCOE
Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management7.1.14Myron Floydmyron_floyd@ncsu.eduCNR
Philosophy and Religious Studies1.1.04Michael J. Pendleburymjpendle@ncsu.eduCHASS
Physics7.1.17Paul Huffmanpaul_huffman@ncsu.eduCOS
Plant and Microbial Biology10.1.00Margaret E. Daubmargaret_daub@ncsu.eduCALS
Political Science [in the School of Public and International Affairs (SPIA)]8.16.12
7.1.12
Traciel Reid (Chair)
Richard Mahoney (Director, SPIA)
traciel_reid@ncsu.edu
rdmahone@ncsu.edu
CHASS
Population Health and Pathobiology5.30.14Paula Craypjcray@ncsu.eduCVM
Prestage Department of Poultry Science4.28.17Patricia Curtispcurtis@ncsu.eduCALS
Psychology7.1.17Chris Mayhornchris_mayhorn@ncsu.eduCHASS
Public Administration [in the School of Public and International Affairs (SPIA)]7.1.12
7.1.12
Jerrell Coggburn (Chair)
Richard Mahoney (Director, SPIA)
jcoggburn@ncsu.edu
rdmahone@ncsu.edu
CHASS
Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Education1.1.14Kathy Trundlekctrundl@unity.ncsu.eduCED
Social Work7.1.13Karen Bullockkbulloc2@ncsu.eduCHASS
Sociology and Anthropology7.1.13William Smithwr_smith@ncsu.eduCHASS
Statistics7.1.16Len Stefanski (Interim)stefansk@ncsu.eduCOS
Teacher Education and Learning Sciences1.1.17John Lee (Interim)john_lee@ncsu.eduCED
Textile and Apparel, Technology and Management8.22.16Trevor Little (Interim)trevor_little@ncsu.eduCOT
Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science1.3.17Jeff Joinesjeffjoines@ncsu.eduCOT