Skip to main content

Provost’s Memo To Deans And Academic Department Heads – 2022-2023

Deans and Academic Department Heads
Warwick A. Arden
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure (RPT) Process, 2022-2023
May 23, 2022

This memorandum provides notification of the Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure schedule and expectations for the 2022-2023 RPT cycle.  Dossiers are to be submitted via NC State’s Online Tool for Submission of Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Dossiers per the following schedule.

Staggered Deadlines:

January 11, 2023 – Design, Education, Natural Resources, Poole-Management, Wilson-Textiles, Veterinary Medicine, Division of Academic and Student Affairs

January 18, 2023 – Humanities and Social Sciences, Sciences

January 25, 2023 – Agriculture and Life Sciences, Engineering

The process details and all related policies, regulations and rules are available on the RPT website

Here are a few reminders about the 2022-2023 process: faculty members have the option again this year to include a COVID Impact Statement in the dossier; ClassEval returned to its original format with a combination of quantitative and open-ended questions beginning with the Spring 2022 semester; and a new template for requesting external evaluations in RPT is now required. For a summary of these changes and reminders please visit the Current Year Details page on the RPT website.

Colleges will soon receive an electronic summary of all the mandatory cases by department. Corrections and any anticipated non-mandatory cases should be added to the summary and returned to Amy Jinnette by August 5, 2022. Additional non-mandatory cases can be added after August 5, as long as the dossiers are complete and uploaded to the website by the college’s deadline.

Thank you for helping us maintain a reappointment, promotion and tenure process that is supportive of faculty excellence. As always, please contact Katharine Stewart ( or Amy Jinnette ( in my office with any questions.


W. Randolph Woodson, Chancellor
Mladen Vouk, Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation
Katharine Stewart, Senior Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs
Amy Jinnette, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Hans Kellner, Chair-Elect, University Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee
RaJade Berry-James, Chair of the Faculty
College RPT Liaisons