Awards and Honors

Honorary Doctoral Degrees

Committee Members

The Faculty Committee on Honorary Degrees at NC State University invites nominations for recipients of the Honorary Doctoral Degree. The Honorary Doctoral Degree recognizes individuals whose achievements are extraordinary and have lasting distinction. It is awarded to individuals, who may or may not have an existing association with the University, on the basis of excellence in scholarship, creativity, leadership, humanitarian service or public service, and differs from the Watauga Medal, which recognizes unusually distinguished service to NC State.

Honorary degrees will not be awarded to members of the University faculty, staff, Board of Trustees, UNC Board of Governors, the Governor, or any elected official or state employee concerned with the function or control of NC State, so long as the relationship exists.

Also see information on the web at URL: which includes the university ‘s official regulation on awarding of honorary degrees and a list of previous recipients.


Nominations may be submitted via the online Honorary Doctoral Degree Nomination Form by personnel affiliated with NC State University. Nominators must have an active Unity ID/Password to submit nominations.

Step 1: Complete the brief on-line form 

Step 2: Email to your letter of nomination, noting the nominee’s accomplishments and qualifications for an Honorary Degree, and reasons why it would be important to the University to award the Honorary Degree.

The Faculty Committee on Honorary Degrees will review the letter.  If the committee supports pursuing the nomination, the nominator will be asked to obtain two letters of support.  Nominations recommended by the Faculty Committee on Honorary Degrees and endorsed by the Provost and Chancellor will be sent to the Board of Trustees for final approval.  The Board considers recommended nominations from the faculty committee each semester.

If you have any questions, contact:

Office of the Provost
Amy Jinnette/ 919.515.3123