Skip to main content

2017-2018 University Faculty Scholars Named

The red belltower looms over campus.

NC State’s 2017-2018 class of University Faculty Scholars was announced today. The 20 recipients represent early- and mid-career faculty dedicated to serving the university community and their respective fields through scholarship, research and engagement.

The University Faculty Scholars program, established by the chancellor in 2012, recognizes and rewards emerging academic leaders at NC State. So far 126 faculty have received this honor. Faculty members selected as University Faculty Scholars carry the title for the duration of their faculty appointment at NC State and receive an increase to their base salary.

A committee of senior faculty reviews nominations submitted by the colleges. Assistant professors appointed for a second term, all associate professors and professors within the first three years of appointment at that rank may receive nominations. The committee evaluates nominees on their research and scholarship productivity, excellence in teaching and mentoring, and leadership in extension, professional societies and public service initiatives.

This year’s class of University Faculty Scholars includes:

  • Helen Armstrong, associate professor of graphic design and industrial design
  • François Birgand, associate professor of biological and agricultural engineering
  • DelWayne Bohnenstiehl, associate professor of marine, earth and atmospheric sciences
  • Matthew Booker, associate professor of history
  • Philip Bradford, associate professor of textile engineering, chemistry and science
  • Jeni Burnette, associate professor of psychology
  • Hannah Burrack, professor of entomology and plant pathology and extension specialist
  • Huaiyu Dai, professor of electrical and computer engineering
  • Joseph DeCarolis, associate professor of civil, construction, and environmental engineering
  • Jing Feng, associate professor of psychology
  • Steven Frank, associate professor of entomology and plant pathology
  • Paul Fyfe, associate professor of English
  • J. Aaron Hipp, associate professor of parks, recreation and tourism management
  • James LeBeau, associate professor of materials science and engineering
  • John Meitzen, associate professor of biological sciences
  • Susana Milla-Lewis, associate professor of crop and soil sciences
  • Soonhye Park, associate professor of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education
  • Jeffrey Pollack, associate professor of management, innovation and entrepreneurship
  • Marc Russo, associate professor of art and design
  • Xipeng Shen, associate professor of computer science

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.