North Carolina State University is a landgrant university and a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina

Office of the Provost and **Executive Vice Chancellor**

NC STATE UNIVERSITY

MEMORANDUM

TO:

FROM:

Campus Box 7101 / 109 Holladay Hall Raleigh, NC 27695-7101 919.515.2195 919.515.5921 (fax)

	Provost & Executive vice Chancellor								
SUBJECT:	2013-14 University Faculty Scholars Program								
DATE:	April 25, 2013								
recognize and	The University Faculty Scholars Program, established in 2012 by Chancellor Woodson to ecognize and reward emerging academic leaders among our faculty, identifies approximately wenty (20) tenured or tenure-track faculty scholars each year. Faculty members selected as								
,	niversity Faculty Scholars will carry the title for a five-year period and receive a \$10,000								

annual supplement that may be used for supplemental salary or programmatic support.

Deans and Academic Department Heads

Warwick A. Arden Wedwal

Durant & Errantin

Nominations are limited to assistant professors who have been reappointed for a second term, all associate professors, and professors within the first three years of appointment at that rank. A faculty member must meet eligibility requirements in both the year he or she is nominated and the year he or she receives the award.

I will ask the deans for a total of 43 nominations, approximately 20 of whom will be named University Faculty Scholars. The number of nominations to be made by each college has been established based on the number of tenured and tenure-track faculty FTEs in that college. (See attached table.) No college will receive a set number of awards in any given year. Faculty members who were nominated but not named University Faculty Scholars last year and are still eligible may be nominated again by their college. However, no faculty member may receive the five-year award more than once.

Each college has established its own nominating procedure, including input from senior faculty in that college, and I have asked each dean to post their college's procedure on their website.

Nominations from the colleges should include the following:

- Current CV or dossier .
- Letter of nomination addressing the nominee's qualifications and potential •
- Letter of support from the nominee's department head •
- Letter from the dean supporting the nomination at the university level •

The provost's Administrative Advisory Committee for the University Faculty Scholars program is composed of senior faculty recommended by each college. (A list of the committee

2013-14 University Faculty Scholars Program April 25, 2013 Page Two

members is attached.) The committee will review the nominations and make recommendations to the provost, who will make the final decision on awardees in consultation with the chancellor.

For the 2013-2014 academic year, I have established the following timeline for the University Faculty Scholars Program:

- <u>September 16, 2013</u>: Nominations from the colleges due to the provost
- <u>By September 16, 2013</u>: Organizational meeting of the administrative advisory committee, to include their charge by the provost, election of a chair, and discussion of review procedures
- <u>By October 25, 2013</u>: Recommendations on nominees due to the provost from the advisory committee
- Late November 2013: University Faculty Scholars named

Additional information on the University Faculty Scholars Program, including links to college nominating procedures, can be found at <u>http://provost.ncsu.edu/special-initiatives/university-faculty-scholars/</u>. If you have questions about the procedures or timeline above, please contact Dr. Betsy Brown, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs (513-7741; <u>bebrown2@ncsu.edu</u>).

Attachments: UFS nominations per college UFS 2013-14 Administrative Advisory Committee

cc: Chancellor Randy Woodson

College	All			Faculty Transfers	Revised Total	%	% of Total	% x 40	# of Nominees*
	Т	Ν	Total						
CALS	261	73	334	(44)	290		21.3%	8.50	9
COD	25	20	45		45		3.3%	1.32	2
CEd	43	30	73		73		5.4%	2.14	2
COE	175	65	240		240		17.6%	7.04	7
CNR	47	16	63		63		4.6%	1.85	2
CHASS	132	103	235		235		17.2%	6.89	7
PAMS/COS	124	54	178	44	222		16.3%	6.51	7
СОТ	24	15	39		39		2.9%	1.14	2
CVM	65	28	93		93		6.8%	2.73	3
РСОМ	31	33	64		64		4.7%	1.88	2
All	927	437	1364		1364		100%	40.00	43

2013-14 University Faculty Scholars - Nominations per College

T = Tenured

N = On tenure track

* More than 40 nominees due to rounding and a minimum of 2 nominees per college

University Faculty Scholars 2013-14 Advisory Committee

Chris Anson, Distinguished University Professor and Director, Campus Writing and Speaking Program English Department, College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Mark Beasley, Deloitte Professor of Enterprise Risk Management and Director, ERM Initiative Accounting Department, Poole College of Management

Sylvia Blankenship, Professor and Associate Dean, Administration Horticultural Science Department, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Lance Fusarelli, Professor and Director of Graduate Programs Leadership, Policy and Adult and Higher Education Department, College of Education

Chris Gould, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor and Associate Dean, Administration Physics Department, College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences [College of Sciences]

Hernán Marchant, Professor and Associate Dean, Undergraduate and Interdisciplinary Studies Art + Design Department, College of Design

Philip Sannes, Professor Molecular Biomedical Sciences Department, College of Veterinary Medicine

Ronald Sederoff, Distinguished University Professor and Co-Director, Forest Biotechnology Group Forestry and Environmental Resources Department, College of Natural Resources

Xiangwu Zhang, Associate Professor Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science Department, College of Textiles

Faculty member from College of Engineering pending selection by the college