Breadcrumb Navigation:

Home > News > Announcing the University Faculty Scholars Program

University Faculty Scholars Program

Memo from the Provost

Date: March 13, 2012

To: Deans, Directors, and Department Heads

From: Warwick Arden, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

Subject: Announcing the University Faculty Scholars Program

As announced by Chancellor Woodson this morning at the Administrative Leadership Meeting, I am pleased to provide further information regarding a new program to recognize and reward emerging academic leaders among our faculty. The program, entitled the University Faculty Scholars Program, will identify up to twenty (20) tenured or tenure-track faculty each year.  Faculty members identified as such will, for a five-year period, carry the title University Faculty Scholar and receive a $10,000 annual supplement, which may be used for supplemental salary or programmatic support.

To be eligible for consideration, outstanding faculty should be nominated by their college. Nominations are limited to assistant professors who have been reappointed for a second term, associate professors, and full professors within the first three years of appointment at that rank. Each college may establish its own nominating procedure but the process should include input from senior faculty in that college, ideally including a current distinguished professor. A limit to the number of nominations for each college will be set, based on the number of tenured and tenure-track faculty FTEs in that college.  A provost’s administrative advisory committee composed of senior faculty from each college will review nominations.  The provost will make the final decision on awardees.  Each college will not necessarily receive a set number of awards in any given year.

I would like for this program to be in effect in the 2012-2013 academic year.  As such, it is important that colleges begin to define their nominating processes.  Once defined, a brief description of the process should be forwarded to the provost for approval.  Colleges should also submit the name of one individual to serve on the provost’s administrative advisory committee to review nominations and make final recommendations.  Such individuals should be tenured professors who have held rank for more than three years and may or may not currently hold professorships of distinction or administrative positions.  Colleges should send descriptions of their nominating processes and the names of advisory committee members to Betsy Brown,, ViceProvost for Faculty Affairs, by April 1, 2012.

I look forward to your assistance in implementing this important program and recognizing outstanding scholarship among our early to mid-career faculty.

Related Links