Breadcrumb Navigation:

Home > News > Overview of Recent Changes within Office of the Provost Units

Overview of Recent Changes within Office of the Provost Units

Memo from the Provost

Date: July 26, 2012

To: Deans, Vice Chancellor & Dean for Academic and Student Affairs, Vice Provosts, and Academic Department Heads

From: Warwick A. Arden, Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor

Subject: Overview of Recent Changes within Office of the Provost Units

We’ve reached several important milestones this summer that I could not let pass without mentioning and, while much of this information has been touched on in separate communications in the last few months, I also wanted to provide an overview of recent transitions within the Office of the Provost and its reporting units.

Three outstanding individuals with more than 120 years of combined service to NC State have retired. Vice Chancellor Tom Stafford, Dean Johnny Wynne and Dean John Ambrose (in phased retirement) all leave considerable legacies behind and have each been honored with emeritus status in recognition of their contributions to the university. I look forward to them remaining actively engaged with the campus community in their retirement.

We’ve successfully completed three national searches and we’ll soon be welcoming these new leaders to NC State:

  • Mike Mullen, currently associate provost for the Division of Undergraduate Education and dean of undergraduate studies at the University of Kentucky, arrives in August to serve as vice chancellor and dean of Academic and Student Affairs.
  • Rich Linton, currently chair of the Department of Food Science and Technology at The Ohio State University, arrives in September to serve as the new dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.
  • Mary Watzin, currently dean of the Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources at the University of Vermont, arrives in October to serve as the new dean of the College of Natural Resources.

I greatly appreciate all of the time, efforts and insights contributed by the three search committees and their chairs, Deans Jayne Fleener, Blanton Godfrey and Louis Martin-Vega.

The Division of Academic and Student Affairs (DASA) is a reality as of July 1, completing the merger of the Divisions of Student Affairs and Undergraduate Academic Programs. DASA, to be led by Vice Chancellor and Dean Mike Mullen, is organized into four subdivisions:

  • Academic Programs and Services (led by Vice Provost José Picart)
  • Arts NC State (led by Vice Provost* Alex Miller)
  • Campus Life (led by Vice Provost* Tim Luckadoo)
  • Student Development, Health and Wellness (led by Vice Provost* Lisa Zapata)

*The titles for Alex Miller, Tim Luckadoo and Lisa Zapata changed from Associate Vice Chancellor to Vice Provost on July 1.

Many thanks to everyone who worked so diligently to ensure a smooth transition for this new division. NC State is gaining national attention for our innovative integration of student and academic affairs into a single unit.

Other key appointments and reassignments were also effective July 1:

  • Sylvia Blankenship was appointed interim dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and will remain in the position until the new dean arrives in the fall.
  • Duane Larick stepped down temporarily as dean of the Graduate School for the next year to focus on his role as senior vice provost for strategic initiatives.
  • Rebeca Rufty was appointed acting dean of the Graduate School in Duane Larick’s absence.
  • Terri Helmlinger Ratcliff was appointed interim vice provost for Outreach and Engagement.

Please refer to the updated organizational chart for a full overview of all Office of the Provost units.

Related Links