Current Year Details – 2020-2021

Provost’s Memo To Deans And Academic Department Heads – 2020-2021

Deans and Academic Department Heads
Warwick A. Arden
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
Reappointment, Promotion, and Tenure (RPT) Process, 2020-2021
May 26, 2020

This memorandum provides notification of the Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure schedule and expectations for the 2020-2021 RPT cycle.  Dossiers are to be submitted via NC State’s Online Tool for Submission of Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Dossiers per the following schedule.

Staggered Deadlines:

January 13, 2021 – Design, Education, Natural Resources, Poole-Management, Wilson-Textiles, Veterinary Medicine, Division of Academic and Student Affairs

January 20, 2021 – Humanities and Social Sciences, Sciences

January 27, 2021 – Agriculture and Life Sciences, Engineering

The process details and all related policies, regulations and rules are available on the RPT website. Please review the 2020-2021 Process and Schedule page on the website for an overview of the schedule along with a few reminders.

Colleges will soon receive an electronic summary of all the mandatory cases by department. Corrections and any anticipated non-mandatory cases should be added to the summary and returned to Amy Jinnette by August 7, 2020. Additional non-mandatory cases can be added after August 7, as long as the dossiers are complete and uploaded to the website by the college’s deadline.

Finally, due to COVID-19 related challenges we have experienced this spring and may continue to experience going forward, we are issuing the attached guidance to help you navigate certain aspects of the dossier/process that are likely to be impacted. Please contact Katharine Stewart
( or Amy Jinnette ( with any questions.

Thank you for helping us maintain a reappointment, promotion and tenure process that is supportive of faculty excellence.

Attachment – Guidance for Managing the 2020-2021 RPT Process/Dossier Due to COVID-19 Challenges [PDF]


W. Randolph Woodson, Chancellor
Mladen Vouk, Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation
Katharine Stewart, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Carolyn Bird, Chair-Elect, University Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee
Hans Kellner, Chair of the Faculty
College RPT Liaisons