Current Year Details – 2017-2018

Provost’s Memo To Deans And Academic Department Heads – 2017-2018


Deans and Academic Department Heads
Warwick A. Arden
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
Reappointment, Promotion, and Tenure (RPT), 2017-2018
May 11, 2017

This memorandum provides notification of the Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure schedule and expectations for the 2017-2018 RPT cycle.  Dossiers are to be submitted via NC State’s Online Tool for Submission of Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Dossiers per the following schedule.

Staggered Deadlines:

January 9, 2018 – Design, Education, Poole-Management, Natural Resources, Textiles, Veterinary Medicine, Division of Academic and Student Affairs

January 16, 2018 – Humanities and Social Sciences, Sciences

January 23, 2018 – Agriculture and Life Sciences, Engineering

The process details and all related policies, regulations and rules are available on the RPT website.

A few reminders about recently implemented requirements in the process can be found on the 2017-2018  Process and Schedule page on the RPT website.

Each college will receive an electronic summary of all the mandatory cases by department by May 15, 2017.  Corrections and any anticipated non-mandatory cases should be added to the summary and returned to Amy Jinnette by August 4, 2017.  Additional non-mandatory cases can be added after August 4, as long as the dossiers are complete and uploaded to the website by the college’s deadline.

Finally, based on observations made last cycle by my office and the University RPT Committee, we will continue to consider ways to enhance the process.  To that end, Vice Provost Katharine Stewart will soon be sending out a “RPT Recap” that will highlight some best practices and identify areas where additional awareness is needed.

Thank you for your efforts in support of maintaining a reappointment, promotion and tenure process that is supportive of faculty excellence.

W. Randolph Woodson, Chancellor
Alan Rebar, Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Economic Development
Katharine Stewart, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Michael Kanters, Chair-Elect, University Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee
Carolyn Bird, Chair-Elect of the Faculty
RPT College Liaisons